Taking a Step Back

I’ve had a lot of time in waiting rooms this week to sit and think. My glucose is high. All my other tests are good. Stress is a big factor in raising my glucose level. So I’ve spent a lot of time assessing where that stress is coming from. I just passed my 70th birthday. I don’t feel any older than I did at 69. Actually, my health has improved. But there is the pain I live with everyday. I would guess that also affects my glucose level. I decided to do something to reduce the stress.

I’m retired; my own boss. Any deadlines I have now are self imposed. With that in mind, I am going to rearrange my priorities. Writing is still high on that list but without the pressure of trying to do thing within a time frame. Well, maybe a loose time frame. Nothing is carved in stone. I am not seeking to achieve worldwide acclaim or write a million seller. I shall be the one who decides what is good for me. If I hurt too bad to work, I’ll curl up on the sofa with my heating pad. Nothing I’m doing is so important that it can’t wait until I feel better. I’m going to keep doing what I do but at a slower pace.

I’m still going to keep in touch with the friends I’ve made online. I’m going to transform my writing from something I dread to something I can once again enjoy. I don’t have to answer to anyone but God and myself. I’m not hurting anybody by slowing down. I’m helping myself to better mental and emotional health.

One thought on “Taking a Step Back

Leave a Reply

